Starting My Own Company

When I was a young boy, I always had the dream of owning my own company. Never did I think that before the age of 30, I would be doing so. I had the opportunity to work with a great web designer and some have some excellent clients to do some work for. All the pieces seemed to fall into place and thus I started X3 Media.

Business is not as easy as it seems. I would like to go through and point out a few things about successful people and people who have the drive that not everyone knows.

The first thing I would like to point out is that success takes time. A person has to know what they want and go for it. Don’t be worried about falling down a few hundred times because that is the only way to fix what you are doing wrong. Trust me, you will do things wrong. I do them wrong all the time and I’ve been in the field for a while. It’s part of growing professionally and knowing not to make the same mistake again.

Also, you are going to make mistakes. Own up to them and most of all, learn form them so that next time you don’t mistake the same mistake. Whether it be a mistake with a co-worker, your boss or in the work that you do, learn what you did wrong and how you can correct it. Early on in my career, I got busted applying for jobs from my work account. I was young and barely out of college. It wasn’t a job I wanted but I was broke and needed the money. Let’s just say, I wasn’t fired but I wasn’t going last there much longer. I found a new job and that was that.

Another big point about running your own business or working for someone else is that you aren’t the perfect fit for everyone and you shouldn’t try to be. Some clients that you may meet won’t be the perfect client for you. They may not have enough money for you to work for them or they may ask for too much for what they are willing to give you. You need to figure out what your own worth is and when to say ‘no’ to a client who just doesn’t work out. Do yourself a favor and find out what your own worth is. What will keep you afloat in your current situation? What will allow you to move up in life? Ask yourself these questions, make lists and take the time to figure it out. You aren’t the perfect fit for every client and sometimes you are better off waiting for the right one to come along instead of just taking one.

You will know what feels right. You will find out through experience what works and what doesn’t. The biggest thing you can do for yourself is to learn what you can from some influencers, ask a ton of questions and make sure that you are constantly learning. Social media and public relations are always changing due to new apps and products. Stay on top of it and talk to those “higher ups” that you trust and can learn from.

And with all of that, X3 Media was born. It’s no where near what I have planned for it but it’s a start. That’s all that I needed, a start.Image

Leave a Reply

