Expectations Of A Brand’s Social Media Manager

When I see brands on social media, I have some expectations. I expect that if I tweet something at a brand, they will respond. It doesn’t have to be in two minutes, I am overjoyed when it does, but I expect a response. In today’s day and age, everything is via the internet and mainly social media. I honestly don’t know when the last time I had to call a hotline or an 1-800 number and sit on hold for 10 minutes when I was able to Google them and find out everything I needed plus more within :90 seconds. The way people are accessing information has changed and social media plays a big role in that.

I expect that brands will also have an updated page where I can find the latest breaking information. If I “like” a brand’s page, “follow” them, repin their pictures, or give them +1’s, it’s because a company is branding themselves in a positive light and they are doing something right. These are the brands that I will make sure my hard earned money or time is going to. If it is a brand that has a product, I will endorse the product by purchasing it and sharing the latest information. I will also be sure to tell my friends about it. If the brand does not have a product or something I can buy physically, I will still share their information and talk positively about it.

Image

One thing I dislike is when I see a brand on social media that is careless and not updated. Every brand should have time for social media. If the brand doesn’t, hire someone that does. Social media may not be the most important task for a

brand, but it should still be a task. Social media isn’t easy. A person can’t expect to post once on social and have a million followers the next day. It doesn’t happen like that. A person who runs social a social media account must be witty, precise, have excellent writing skills and be able to be convincing without being a door to door salesman.

Community managers have lots to do in real-time. They need to make sure that they are posting quality content in a timely manner, managing both the positive and the negative comments posted about their brand and know that their job doesn’t end because they have left for the weekend or the night. A community manager is someone who always needs to be connected to monitor what is going on with the brand. Don’t delete negative comments posted about a brand. Think how to respond, in a positive way, making your brand loyalty stronger and appeasing the consumer.

One negative tweet or post can ruin a brand’s identity. It’s said that when a brand does something great, a person will tell a friend. When a brand does something bad, a person will tell everyone who will listen. The odds are stacked against a community manager to be on the ball all the time. It’s a high-stakes job with high rewards. I’ve seen so many companies and franchises who will post one negative tweet and the media has a field day with them. Anything said on the internet can’t be taken back.

I encourage my staff to think strategically. Think of great content that will make people want more. This keeps consumers coming back to the site. Think what we can do different to stand out. Think how we can get more engagement on the site and help bring a new revenue stream to the company. Most of all, I just want them to think before they post anything.

Leave a Reply

